Featured in the Boston Globe!

Standard

The recipe for a French cookbook

By Jane Dornbusch

<br />

When Eleonor Picciotto was laid up after a skiing accident, she did what any other Paris-born-and-bred young woman would do: She wrote a cookbook. “I was going crazy,’’ says Picciotto, who graduated from Boston University last January. “My friends said, ‘You love to write, you love to cook, you’re stuck at home. Write a cookbook.’ ’’ The result is “French Cuisine for the Young and Broke,’’ a self-published volume ($35), full of the author’s own photos, kitchen wisdom, and simple French recipes. Picciotto  says she was surprised, when she came to the United States to attend school four years ago, at her classmates’ lack of cooking knowledge and their dependence on take-out. “I tried to tell them that French cooking can be very easy.’’ With dishes such as crepes, croque monsieur, and chocolate cake, Picciotto hopes the book proves the point and provides students and others on a budget with an alternative to fast food. Eleonor Picciotto will be at the French Cultural Center, 52 Marlborough St., tomorrow at 6:30 p.m., serving dishes from the book. Admission is $5. Call 617-912-0400 for reservations (required). To order the book, e-mail frenchcuisinebyele@gmail.com. A $6.99 digital edition will available in a couple of weeks.

 

About Eléonor Picciotto

I was born and raised in Paris for the first 17 years of my life. Then I decided to move to the U.S in order to study Journalism at Boston University from where I graduated in January 2011. I now live in New York City, try to pursue as much as I can some of my passions such as writing, cooking, traveling, photograph-ing... On December 6th, my cookbook "French Cuisine for the Young and Broke" was launched, I hope you will appreciate it as much as I do. In meantime and the future, this blog is a great tool for kitchen tips, lifestyle tricks, recipes, city guides, press articles ... and many other cool stuff! E.

2 responses »

  1. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by means of him as no one else recognize such distinct about my difficulty. You’re wonderful! Thank you!

    • Thank you so much for your comment, it really means a lot. I hope you will every piece of information you are wondering about or looking for!

Leave a Reply

